FAQ

We have compiled the answers to the questions that readers ask again and again.

Which camera and lenses do you use for your photos?

We photograph all of our images using the Canon 5D MK III. Since we also work as wedding photographers, we have almost every high-speed L-fixed focal length from Canon at our disposal. When it comes to food photography, we usually use EF 50mm 1:1,2 L, EF 35mm 1:1,4 L und EF 100mm 1:2,8 L IS Macro.

How do you set up the lighting for your photos?

Almost all of our images are photographed in daylight. We tend to use our balcony window for this purpose. If it is slightly later in the day, or is simply too dark in the middle of winter, we turn to our Hensel compact flashes.

Which program do you use to edit your photos?

We use Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop.

Do you offer workshops?

We do, but only in German. You can find all of the information regarding our food photography and food styling workshops here.

Where do you find your props?

We source our tableware and utensils from all over the world, often from France, England, Denmark, the USA or Japan. We find these items at ceramics markets, browsing the Internet, when travelling and mainly at the flea market. Most of our plates and bowls are individual pieces, which are not duplicates, since they are old objects that we have found, or they have been produced especially for us. We have been collecting tableware from a wide range of different ceramicists for years.

We can spend hours or even days browsing Etsy, Ebay and Dawanda for special treasure. Analogue Life (http://analoguelife.com), Zierrad und Gold (http://zierratundgold.bigcartel.com) and Selekkt (http://selekkt.com/kueche-kochen-essen.html) come highly recommended as online shops. We are also waiting with baited breath for the day when the Food52 online shop (http://food52.com) starts shipping to Germany!

What are those symbols next to the recipes?

Since we have noticed that too many dairy and cereal products can be bad for our body, we often eat food that is vegan or free from lactose or gluten. These small symbols next to our recipes help our readers to instantly recognise whether a dish is vegan, or lactose/gluten-free. If you click the icon, you will be directed to a list of all recipes for the relevant category.

Do you only buy and eat organic products?

You can often find plastic-packed fruit and vegetables from all over the world in the organic department of the supermarket. The most important thing for us is to purchase local food products, which did not have to travel hundreds of kilometres to reach us. Even though we mainly purchase products from an organic farm at the weekly market, we always prefer the local apples with no organic label to organic apples that have been flown in. However, when it comes to dairy products, eggs, honey and products made of corn, soya and grain, we pay great attention to organic quality.

Where do you buy your food products?

We usually go to the weekly eco-market at Leopoldplatz, which is only a few meters from our flat. It is quite small, but provides us with all the fresh, local ingredients that we need. Sometimes we also make it to Wittenbergplatz on Thursdays, visit Markthalle 9 on a Saturday or, if we are looking for something really special, we head to the Frischeparadies. We also think it is great to visit the farmers themselves from time to time. There is not a huge variety of different vegetables at the Alte Fasanerie in Berlin-Lübars, but you do get the chance to see them grow. There is also the Himmelbeet garden in the Wedding district of Berlin, where we often look to find herbs and vegetables. The farmers in the regions surrounding Berlin and many other German cities regularly offer an eco-box, which is delivered straight to your door. We can recommend the Ökodorf Brodowin for Berlin.

Which are your favourite restaurants in Berlin?

OK, this section is certainly going to be a bit longer. Berlin offers so many wonderful restaurants with vegetarian dishes from all over the world. We love Vietnamese food – particularly the brilliant creations from Sian’s restaurants. We always order a dish from the carte du jour at ChénChè (Rosenthaler Straße 13, 10119 Berlin) and you absolutely have to try the vegetarian burger at District Môt (Rosenthalerstrasse 62, 10119 Berlin). Also a wonderful Vietnamese restaurant is SOY (Rosa-Luxemburg-Straße 30, 10178 Berlin). The special of SOY is that every dish is complete vegan. Our favourite places to eat Korean food are Shikgoo (Tegeler Str. 27, 13353 Berlin) and YamYam (Alte Schönhauser Straße 6, 10119 Berlin). We love the delicious vegan food at KOPPS (Linienstraße 94, 10115 Berlin) and The Bowl (Warschauer Straße 33, 10243 Berlin). We love tucking into the crispy, Italian-style, stone-baked pizzas at Standard (Templiner Straße 7, 10119 Berlin) and I Due Forni (Schönhauser Allee 12, 10119 Berlin). If the boss of W der Imbiss (Kastanienallee 49, 10119 Berlin) is in the kitchen himself at the weekend, he serves his favourite Masala Dosa dish from South India. It is not on the menu, which means it is worth calling in advance to ask if the boss is there. If you have a taste for the exotic, then the Bejte Ethiopia restaurant (Zietenstraße 8, 10783 Berlin) is not to be missed. We like to go there with a few friends, we all share a big plate that is filled with an assortment of delicacies, which we eat with our fingers. If you cannot make a decision, it is worth paying a visit to one of Berlin’s brilliant food markets. Street Food Thursday takes place every week in Markthalle Neun (Eisenbahnstraße 42-43, 10997 Berlin) and on Sundays you can fill your belly from a range of different food trucks at the Street Food auf Achse Market at Kulturbrauerei (Schönhauser Allee 36, 10435 Berlin). If you like to finish your meal with something sweet, we would point you in the direction of Zeit für Brot (Alte Schönhauser Straße 4, 10119 Berlin), where you can enjoy a cinnamon bun. As the name suggests, you can also find the best bread and bread rolls for the breakfast table.

We are already looking forward to discovering even more delicious restaurants, takeaways and markets in Berlin over the next few years. It goes without saying that we are also open to your suggestions!

Do you own a restaurant in Berlin?

Even though we have often toyed with the idea of opening our own little place in Berlin, we are still too in love with photography. We are completely lacking in the know-how required for professional gastronomy, and the relaxation that we get from cooking would definitely fall by the wayside. However, since we are not just interested in bringing our readers nearer to the kitchen in a virtual sense, we also organise private events from time to time.

Is it possible to advertise on your blog?

We would like to keep our blog free from adverts. We only go into partnership with selected companies, who share our ideology and whose products and company philosophy we back 100%. These articles are furnished with a note stating ‘sponsored post’.

Is it possible for us to publish a promotional article or editorial contribution on your blog?

No, that is not possible. We only publish our own articles and recipes.

May I publish your recipes on my own blog?

We invest a great deal of time in recipe development and photography. Both are subject to copyright law and it is not permitted to publish or forward them without our prior consent.

Which blog template do you use and where can I download it?

Our blog is based on WordPress. We designed the whole thing ourselves and implemented it with the help of our programmers.

FAQ

Die Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen, die uns immer wieder von unseren Lesern gestellt werden, haben wir hier zusammengefasst.

Welche Kamera und Objektive benutzt ihr für eure Fotos?

Wir fotografieren alle unsere Bilder mit der Canon 5D MK III. Da wir auch als Hochzeitsfotografen arbeiten, besitzen wir nahezu jede lichtstarke L-Festbrennweite von Canon. In der Food-Fotografie kommen am meisten EF 50mm 1:1,2 L, EF 35mm 1:1,4 L und EF 100mm 1:2,8 L IS Macro zum Einsatz.

Wie leuchtet ihr das Set für die Fotos aus?

Fast alle unsere Aufnahmen sind bei Tageslicht fotografiert. Hierzu nutzen wir in der Regel unser Balkonfenster. Wenn es doch einmal etwas später wir, oder es im tiefen Winter einfach zu dunkel ist, setzen wir unsere Hensel Kompaktblitze ein.

Mit welchem Programm bearbeitet ihr eure Fotos?

Wir benutzen Adobe Lightroom und Photoshop.

Gebt ihr Workshops?

Alle Infos zu unseren Food-Fotografie und Food-Styling Workshops findet ihr hier.

Woher bekommt ihr euer Geschirr und die ganzen Utensilien?

Unser Geschirr und die Utensilien bekommen wir aus der ganzen Welt, oft aus Frankreich, England, Dänemark, den USA oder Japan. Wir finden sie auf Keramikmärkten, beim Stöbern im Netz, auf Reisen und vor allem auf dem Flohmarkt. Die meisten Teller und Schalen sind Einzelstücke, die es so kein zweites Mal gibt, da sie alte Fundstücke sind oder auch speziell für uns gefertigt wurden. Wir sammeln unser Geschirr schon über Jahre hinweg von den verschiedensten Keramikern.
Auf Etsy, Ebay oder auch Dawanda können wir Stunden und Tage verbringen um nach besonderen Schätzen zu stöbern. Als Onlinehops können wir außerdem Analogue Life (http://analoguelife.com), Zierrad und Gold (http://zierratundgold.bigcartel.com) und Selekkt (http://selekkt.com/kueche-kochen-essen.html) empfehlen. Außerdem warten wir sehnsüchtig darauf, dass der Online-Shop von Food52 (http://food52.com) auch nach Deutschland versendet!

Was sind das für Symbole neben den Rezepten?

Da wir gemerkt haben, dass ein Übermaß an Milch- und Getreideprodukten unserem Körper nicht so gut tut, essen wir oft vegan, laktose- oder glutenfrei. Durch die kleinen Symbole bei unseren Rezepte kann man auf den ersten Blick erkennen, ob ein Gericht vegan, laktose- oder glutenfrei ist. Wenn ihr zusätzlich auf das Icon klickt, bekommt ihr eine Auflistung aller Rezepte zur entsprechenden Kategorie.

Kauft und esst ihr ausschliesslich BIO Produkte?

In Bio-Abteilungen von Supermärkten findet man häufig in Plastik verpacktes Obst und Gemüse aus der ganzen Welt. Für uns ist es in erster Linie wichtig regionale Lebensmittel zu kaufen, die keine hunderte von Kilometern zurückgelegt haben. Auch wenn wir auf dem Wochenmarkt hauptsächlich von einem Bio-Bauernhof einkaufen, würden wir den regionalen Apfel ohne Bio-Siegel immer dem eingeflogenen Bio-Apfel vorziehen. Bei Milchprodukten, Eiern, Honig sowie Produkten aus Mais, Soja und Getreide achten wir jedoch sehr genau auf Bio Qualität.

Wo kauft ihr eure Lebensmittel?

Wir gehen in der Regel zum Öko-Wochenmarkt am Leopoldplatz, der nur wenige Meter von unserer Wohnung entfernt ist. Er ist sehr klein aber fein und wir bekommen dort alles an frischen regionalen Zutaten, was wir brauchen. Manchmal treibt es uns auch donnerstags auf den Wittenbergplatz, samstags in die Markthalle 9 oder, wenn es etwas Spezielles sein soll, ins Frischeparadies. Wir finden es aber auch toll direkt beim Bauern vorbei zu schauen. In der Alten Fasanerie in Lübars gibt es nicht allzu viel Auswahl an Gemüsesorten aber man kann ihnen dafür beim wachsen zusehen. In Berlin-Wedding gibt es außerdem noch das „Himmelbeet“, wo wir Kräuter und Gemüse besorgen können. In Berlin und vielen anderen Städten in Deutschland bieten die Bauern im Umland oft einen Ökokorb an, der einmal in der Woche direkt bis zur Wohnungstür geliefert wird. Für Berlin können wir hier das Ökodorf Brodowin empfehlen.

Welche Lieblingsrestaurants habt ihr in Berlin?

Ok, dieser Abschnitt wird auf jeden Fall etwas länger. Denn Berlin bietet so viele wundervolle Restaurants mit vegetarischen Gerichten aus der ganzen Welt. Wir lieben vietnamesisches Essen – besonders die tollen Kreationen aus Sians Restaurants. Im ChénChè (Rosenthaler Straße 13, 10119 Berlin) bestellen wir immer ein Gericht von der Tageskarte und im District Môt (Rosenthalerstrasse 62, 10119 Berlin) müsst ihr unbedingt den vegetarischen Burger probieren. Ein wunderbarer veganer Vietnamese ins das SOY (Rosa-Luxemburg-Straße 30, 10178 Berlin) Koreanisch essen wir am liebsten bei Shikgoo (Tegeler Str. 27, 13353 Berlin) und YamYam (Alte Schönhauser Straße 6, 10119 Berlin). Köstliches veganes Essen genießen wir bei KOPPS (Linienstraße 94, 10115 Berlin) und The Bowl (Warschauer Straße 33, 10243 Berlin). Knusprige Steinofenpizzen wie in Italien lassen wir uns im Standard (Templiner Straße 7, 10119 Berlin) und im I Due Forni (Schönhauser Allee 12, 10119 Berlin) schmecken. Wenn am Wochenende der Chef von W der Imbiss (Kastanienallee 49, 10119 Berlin) selbst in der Küche steht, serviert er sein Lieblingsgericht aus Südindien Masala Dosa. Dieses steht nicht auf der Karte. Es empfiehlt sich also vorher anzurufen und zu fragen, ob der Chef da ist. Wer es exotisch mag, sollte unbedingt einmal beim Äthiopier Bejte Ethiopia (Zietenstraße 8, 10783 Berlin) vorbei schauen. Wir gehen am liebsten mit ein paar Freunden dorthin, denn es wird gemeinsam von einer großen Platte, belegt mit verschiedenen Köstlichkeiten, mit den Händen gegessen. Wer sich schwer entscheiden kann, der sollte einen der wunderbaren Food Markets in Berlin besuchen. In der Markthalle Neun (Eisenbahnstraße 42-43, 10997 Berlin) gibt es jede Woche den Street Food Thursday und sonntags könnt ihr euch in der Kulturbrauerei (Schönhauser Allee 36, 10435 Berlin) auf dem Street Food auf Achse Markt an vielen verschiedenen Foodtrucks den Bauch vollschlagen. Wer es zum Abschluss gerne süß mag, den würden wir zu Zeit für Brot (Alte Schönhauser Straße 4, 10119 Berlin) zum Zimtschnecken essen schicken. Es gibt dort auch, wie der Name schon sagt, tolles Brot und Brötchen für den Frühstückstisch.

Wir freuen uns schon darauf in den nächsten Jahren noch viele weitere leckere Restaurants, Imbisse und Märkte in Berlin zu erkunden. Natürlich sind wir auch offen für Empfehlungen von euch!

Habt ihr ein eigenes Restaurant in Berlin?

Auch wenn wir schon öfter mit dem Gedanken gespielt haben unseren eigenen kleinen Laden in Berlin zu eröffnen, hängt unser Herz doch zu sehr an der Fotografie. Für die professionelle Gastronomie fehlt uns komplett das Know-how und die Entspannung, die uns das Kochen bringt, würde auf jeden Fall auf der Strecke bleiben. Da es uns aber wichtig ist unseren Lesern unsere Küche nicht nur virtuell näher zu bringen, veranstalten wir von Zeit zu Zeit Private Dinner.

Kann man Werbung auf eurem Blog schalten?

Unseren Blog möchten wir möglichst werbefrei halten. Kooperationen gehen wir nur mit sehr ausgewählten Firmen ein, die zu uns passen und hinter deren Produkten und Firmenphilosophie wir 100%ig stehen. Solche Artikel versehen wir mit dem zusätzlichen Hinweis „Gesponserter Beitrag“.

Können wir einen Werbeartikel oder redaktionellen Beitrag auf eurem Blog veröffentlichen?

Nein, das ist nicht möglich. Es werden nur unsere eigenen Artikel und Rezepte veröffentlicht.

Darf ich eure Rezepte auch auf meinem Blog posten?

Wir investieren sehr viel Zeit in Rezeptentwicklung und Fotografie. Beides unterliegt dem Urheberrecht und darf ohne unser Einverständnis nicht veröffentlicht oder weiterverwertet werden.

Was benutzt ihr für ein Blog Template und wo kann ich das runterladen?

Unser Blog basiert auf WordPress. Das komplette Design haben wir selbst gestaltet und mithilfe unseres Programmierers umgesetzt.